Watson Bay and dioxide level?

Billy198209

Hi guys, last Saturday I spent just about 3 hours in Watson bay and caught 6 big trevally and some decent sized tailors. This was the first time I fished there but there was a sign in front that wrote; any fish caught from West of the Harbour bridge shouldn't be eaten and any fish caught from East of the Harbour bridge should only be consumed 150g per month because of high dioxide level in the Harbour.  

I was a bit worried and didn't dare to eat the nice chubby trevally and tailors yet. Any thought on this guys? Is it safe to eat fish from Watson bay area? 

Their has been warnings about different parts of the harbour for years. Same as blue algae  signs for parts of the Hawkesbury.

Warnings about fish caught around Nth Bondi outlet. I have been eating fish from all these areas for over 50 years and no sickness or effect. 

Trevally and tailor do not stay in one spot so the ones you caught may have been anywhere 10 minutes before you caught them.

A king you catch outside the heads may have been in the harbour for weeks before you catch it.

Jeff

6 hours ago, papafish said:

that might be a old sign. but i know alot of people catch fish from watson bay and takes it home to eat. no problem

Every wharf i fish have the signs on them but i know of people who eat the fish from there for years and still continue to eat the fish Eating fish 2 times a week is fine would not eat them every day but .