Sydney LBG with lures

Ledge

Hey Raiders.

Long time spectator, first post I've started though.

Given kings are the only reliable gamefish in or around Sydney, I'm wondering if anyone has had much success catching kings off the rocks using lures.

I have been rockfishing for about 3 years now and have got to the point where I can reliably catch a feed, but I haven't caught any 'trophies' yet. By which I mean a fish approaching the magic metre.

So this summer I'm going to forget about the table and start targeting big kings. 

I've caught roughly 10 kingfish over the last 3 summers using pilchards, but they were all undersized so I assume big kings don't like pillies. Livebait is the obvious choice but holding a rod with a balloon bobbing around for hours on end can get boring, and sometimes there's just no livies around the ledge I'm fishing. 

So, what success have you fine people had with catching big fish from the rocks with lures IN OR NEAR SYDNEY? What lures do you use and what have you caught?

Or is there another viable alternative to livebait? Do whole dead squid or slimies from the seafood wholesalers work or are they too old/washed with fresh water?

I'm starting this journey on Sunday so I will share my experiences, but I'd love some advice to speed up the learning process!

Cheers, Ledge.

Edited by Ledge

Caught heaps over the years- my main "home" ledge was on the Nthn beaches and was very tough to land a king bigger than 5 kg but that was back in the day of spinning with 20lb mono. Best lures i found were big white metals usually Raiders, poppers, GT Ice Creams (Richter stick baits) BUT best option is spinning with garfish, outfishes lures in general (except maybe the GT Icecream) by about 5:1- got to be seagar though- the ones with the red tips on their beaks