Salted garfish as a bait

savit

Garfish is my number 1 bait for kings landbased mate, I even downrig them dead in my yak. I have been spinning gars off the rocks for around 3 years and have hooked many many kings on them, multiple ones over a metre. Google "ballyhoo rig for trolling for marlin" and have a look at a few ways to rig for spinning. Have had a lot of luck downrigging them in areas like Long reef. Tailor, Mack tuna and salmon live them tooIMG_1098.JPG 

17 hours ago, REELCRAZY said:

Garfish is my number 1 bait for kings landbased mate, I even downrig them dead in my yak. I have been spinning gars off the rocks for around 3 years and have hooked many many kings on them, multiple ones over a metre. Google "ballyhoo rig for trolling for marlin" and have a look at a few ways to rig for spinning. Have had a lot of luck downrigging them in areas like Long reef. Tailor, Mack tuna and salmon live them too

Thanks REELCRAZY. I noticed that they are good for landbased fishing off rocks and I preffer them to salted pilchards (unless I have live bait). Though, for some reason, for night beach/rock/estuary landbased fishing - pilchards are more productive than garfish for me.  

Do you use 1 or 2 hooks in gar ballyhoo rig? Do you use weight for the casting distance? How do you retrieve them when spinning?  What rig skirt color do you prefer (if you use them)?

2 hours ago, savit said:

Thanks REELCRAZY. I noticed that they are good for landbased fishing off rocks and I preffer them to salted pilchards (unless I have live bait). Though, for some reason, for night beach/rock/estuary landbased fishing - pilchards are more productive than garfish for me.  

Do you use 1 or 2 hooks in gar ballyhoo rig? Do you use weight for the casting distance? How do you retrieve them when spinning?  What rig skirt color do you prefer (if you use them)?