Recommendation for intro Baitcast setup

horsleyboy

Hi all,

I've always been interested in baitcasters.  Whenever i see them in youtube videos or tv shows etc I'd just love to add one to my arsenal and give one a try. I've been fishing for around 15 years, mainly saltwater on light-ish gear, jigging for various types of species in lakes, fishing off a kayak for bass and also most recently, spinning for trout in dams. I'd say im an intermediate fisherman.

The baitcasters seem to provide a more natural casting action, which seems to provide more accuracy and that's pretty enticing.

I guess i'd be using it for bass of the yak, fishing streams and dams for trout and also lakes for the usual suspects. Do they work in a similar way to a spinning setup? I currently have a Trion/Symetre and a Catania/cazna setup that i use for the above locations. Both rigged the same - 6lb braid with 8lb fluero.

So i guess the questions i have are:

- Recommended setup for max budget $200. Is this overkill for a starter baitcaster?
- General research on some options that seem like good value:
           - Abu Garcia Black Max $103
           - Hearing good things about the Kastking Royal Legend Reel $44. I'd just need to find a rod to match
           - Found an Abu Garcia Pro Max on Gumtree, 5 months old used a few times for $90 inc. new pack of Shimano braid
           - Daiwa D-Cast combo $96
- Is it better to put more in to a reel or rod?
- Should i buy each separately as opposed to a combo to give more options?
- Is it worth bothering? I'm pretty content with spinning.

General thoughts, advice and opinions are welcome.

Thanks in advance,
Nick

The main advantage of a baitcaster is stopping power being you can thumb the spool and put hurt on the fish running heavier braids on smaller setups

Not bad for bass yaking wouldnt recommend for trout as its harder to fish the lighter drags required for trout fishing