Pumping Bait

Guest Sea Jay

Guest Sea Jay

Just a general question

I am looking to pump up some pippes and thing on holidays over christmas i have never done it before so i was wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions of what to look for when selecting a spot, technique and equipment.

I was going to head down a buy a pump this week.

Any help would be appriciated

Ahh Pipis. This is easy. Wouldn't even bother with a pump. find a spot where the water is slowly residing in after a wave typically about half to a mtere in from the where the wave ends. Stand facing east and twist. you will feel them with your feet ad if you wait for the wash to reside you should also see them rolling along.

Hawks nest beach has them.

I don't know aout boat locations but if you search the forums there was plenty of land based spots suggested a couple of weeks ago.

Cheers

Guest Sea Jay

Ahh Pipis. This is easy. Wouldn't even bother with a pump. find a spot where the water is slowly residing in after a wave typically about half to a mtere in from the where the wave ends. Stand facing east and twist. you will feel them with your feet ad if you wait for the wash to reside you should also see them rolling along.

Hawks nest beach has them.

I don't know aout boat locations but if you search the forums there was plenty of land based spots suggested a couple of weeks ago.

Cheers

Is there any sign that i should look for to say if they are there or not??

Guest Sea Jay

Thanks Mate

Also at hawks nest there is the main surf beach and another beach called jimmy's which is a bit like the beaches at brighton le sands on botany bay, it is a bay not open water, are the pippes and worms found there as well or are they only on the main beach.

I have heard that it is very hard to catch the beach worms is this correct. The only method i have heard of is to use a stinker and catch them by hand.

Can you suggest any other methods??