Drennan float or feeder reels

woy woy col

Hi all

Could I get some information about Drennan Red Range float or feeder reels my thoughts are that I could use it for luddick fishing rather than a centre pin reel I may even use it for carp as well.  I can get one from Great Britten for $70 aust derived

woy woy col  :)

They are 19.95 pound which is about $45 oz dollars so you are paying a bit for freight. Much better choices locally and as for rear drag reels I try to stay away from them. Had several in the past and none stood up to any sort of rough treatment, but this is just MY opinion.

PS I do like the little plastic indicator that plugs into the end of the spool that donates what line you have on it. But that's the only thing I like about them over any other cheap reel.

Frank

Edited by frankS
  • Like 1

:)

Hi KB I have been using centre pin reels for years, about six years I started using a small rear drag spinning reel  and this is the reason why. 

On most reels have a catch on the skirt of the spool a lot of fishos think it’s just to stop the line from unravelling and it may well be, but when I want a short cast against structure I simply do a trial cast and then pull maybe a pull a metre extra line off the spool and clip it into that little plastic clip that way with a bit of practises you can drop your rig up against structure or such like

This is not my idea watched it on youtube under course fishing tect they have developed the reels for this purples and that the is reason why  and besides I may well be the only kid on the bloke with a Drennan Red  float reel.

woy woy col

Edited by woy woy col

10 hours ago, Green Hornet said:

I watched a couple of utube clips on them but they didn't show too much.

What's the difference between them and an ordinary, rear drag spin reel?

Thanks for your reply GH I have just put in my reply to  KB   and like I said for $70  I may be the only kid of the block with a Red Drennan float reel.

woy woy col :)