Squid and cuttlefish

Pickles

I had a recent pm from @Max_fish about squidding in the harbour and although this has come up many times in the past, I thought I’d share a few brief thoughts from my experience. Please - this is NOT exhaustive and only based on my experience and I’m not an expert, just love catching Kingies and the only way I know to consistently get them is with live bait and the best live bait is cuttlefish and squid.

"…………., squid (and cuttlefish) are like most species and some days you wonder what all the fuss is about as they are numerous and hungry and other days impossible to catch.

I usually use a 1.8 - 2.0 jig for cuttlefish, unless off shore or at South Head - It is illegal at Nth Head as this is in the Aquatic Reserve (SEE MAP) and extends all the way to the very front of Nth Head and a $500 fine if caught squidding there an I’ve seen fisheries taking photos on video cam  - I do tagging and fin clipping research for fisheries and know some of the officers and they are no longer lenient and  give a warning. If off shore for BIG cuttlefish, I’ll use a 3.5-4.5 jig and sometimes catch the 4-5kg models - real Crackens (see pics). These make the very best baits for kings as you can get 3 baits from each of the 2 candles and then at least 10 baits out of the head and cape. Unlike calamari though cuttlefish guts are NOT a good bait, whereas squid guts are the very best cut/dead bait.

Smaller Cuttlefish like the weed beds in the harbour, whereas calamari (green eyes) like the kelp beds. There is kelp on every headland, so it’s just a matter of finding where they are feeding and this changes, however they like clean water, so after rain a run in tide closer to the heads is much more successful in the harbour than a runout after rain, as the clean water lets them see the bait/ lure.