Kayaking Bobbo/Apple Tree sharks

kath2020

Hey!

Would appreciate hearing anyone's opinion on sharks... I've been swimming and kayaking for a few years in this area and never really gave too much thought to predators. Someone mentioned the bull sharks in that area and now that I've switched to a super light little sit on top sea kayak (that I can throw in the boot) my confidence has plummeted!! Thanks for your time, K

I live in Port Macquarie and regularly ksyak the Hastings river which is well known for big bull sharks, I've never had an issue

Interestingly some years ago large bull sharks were radio tagged in Sydney harbour and swam within metres of oblivious swimmers with no hint of attacking

You're more likely to be injured in  your car on the way to launch than have an issue with a bull shark

• Like 3

I guess, you're in the water, the chance is there, but, in reality that chance is very slim, millions of people swim, surf, fish, boat, kayak every day, Sharks have always been there, yet "contact" is rare.

• 3 weeks later...

Ive fished those system's many times on my kayak and have never crossed paths (at least not that I could see) but my mate who grew up in that area told me hes seen tonnes of small ones around there on the sand flats. I did have a sea turtle surface near me once in coal and candle creek and it scared the crap out of me. Just a big head staring at me and blowing out a gust of air. Once I knew what it was I was ok but for those 3 seconds it was intense.

If its any comfort, theres like no reports of bullsharks tipping kayaks, great whites on the other hand...