Fish Finder Help

Sammy0884

Hi Guys,

picking up my first boat this week, and i want to get hold of a fish finder..

budget is small, and i have never used one before, so i would like to hear your recommendations

also, can somebody tell me if this deal is any good?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Boaties-Starter-Pack-with-GPS-VHF-radio-Fish-Finder_W0QQitemZ4616360703QQcategoryZ102812QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Cheers

G'day Sammi,

For under or just around the $200 mark you can pick up an Eagle Cuda Sounder. I bought one of these for my "first sounder" thinking one day I'd go to a better one but I'm amazed at how good it is for the money.

Understand this is a "cheap" entry level sounder but for the money I reckon it's great.

It has water temp and lots of features like fish ID (until you get a handle of reading arches) , shallow and deep water alarms, backlight for night, zoom, sensitivity adjustment settings etc etc.

Mine goes great in both the salt and fresh and picks up the bottom and structure very well. Now I've learned to read it properly I can put it to very good use when I'm looking for those Nepean Bass :biggrin2:

Here's a link to the eagle sonar site:

Eagle Sonar

Like I said, this is only an entry level sounder and won't do all the special things a $700 unit will and obviously its not colour but for the money, might be worth a look for you give the budget you've got.

Are you installing it yourself or getting someone to do it for you / help you out?? I did mine with the help of my mate Geoff who is very experienced in these things. I'd get some help if you've never done it before. Drilling holes in the transom of your boat can be a bit scary!!

Hope this helps you out.

Cheers,

Edited by mottyman

i might take that advice Mark,

in that case, what would you recommend for $5-600?

Cheers

X135 lowrance is a nice unit and good value for money :biggrin2:

Cheers Swordfisherman

is it just me or do some of the Lowrance and Eagle finders look identical?