New To Fishing

union

Hey fellas

Im new to fishing and just got myself Rod and reel from k-mart $99 combo. I got a GTS Shimano 4-6kg Rod and 6000 shimano reel.

Anyways i got maxima 15lb line and the bastard snapped doing the knot up on the swival, seemed pretty piss poor to me. Anyways i friend reccommend penn x10 20lb line, but its $27 (300m or 600m not sure). Do penn produce good lines? I saw on ebay that had gillmaster 35lbs 500m for $12.50, anyone heard of this brand?... usually you get for what you pay for ebay and im not too sure.

cheers.

G'day

I've found Maxima to be a very stiff line, not good at all... I wouldn't go near Gillmaster either... If you're looking for a good quality line at a decent price, you can pick up some Berlkey Trilene for aout $5 at BigW. It's definitely more flexible than Maxima and ties good knots. You would probably want to go for something a little lighter than 20lb too! Try 8 lb, that will hold most fish around the estuaries. Lighter line is just a lot easier to manage than the heavier stuff.

Cheers.

G'day

I've found Maxima to be a very stiff line, not good at all... I wouldn't go near Gillmaster either... If you're looking for a good quality line at a decent price, you can pick up some Berlkey Trilene for aout $5 at BigW. It's definitely more flexible than Maxima and ties good knots. You would probably want to go for something a little lighter than 20lb too! Try 8 lb, that will hold most fish around the estuaries. Lighter line is just a lot easier to manage than the heavier stuff.

Cheers.

Well we went fishing at newcastle habour the other night and my mate caught something big (hes running same setup as me but with a penn 20lb line) his line was not strong enough to pull it up so some bloke had to come and hook it up-- everyone came and had a look at it and no one knew what it was. So i wanted a pretty strong line as i also have a 12ft beach rod--- and im going on stocko beach.

BTW the shimano rod i have is a 9ft.