Smoking Fish

kenmare

Hi guys,

Dropped in to a local discount sporting good shop this afternoon and, on impulse, purchased a fish smoker.

Tried smoked trout once, and it was delicious. And I've heard that tailer and other saltwater fish are pretty good smoked too.

Always planned to try my hand at smoking fish. With the beach tailer season already upon us, I figured that at $24.95 for an Aussie designed and Chinese made all metal, metho fueled, two-rack smoker, there wasn't too much at stake.

Problem is, the store couldn't supply sawdust -- a critical ingredient for fish smoking.

Anyone know where's the best place to obtain the correct sawdust for smoking fish?

Are there "secret ingredients" or special ways of going about fish smoking that will ensure the end product is mouth watering and not fit for the rubbish bin?

Regards,

Bob

G'day mate.

I've been smoking fish for a few years & it's a great way to cook, I love smoked fish.

Not sure where you can source your dust from up the coast. Some of the bigger tackle shops down here such as Otto's have a good variety of flavours.

Trout & Tailor are probably the best fish, though I've done slimies & even salmon with success. Sausages & chicken come up fantastic as well.

You don't have to use too much dust either. Just depends on how strong a flavour you want.

Try lightly covering the fish in a brown sugar & water mix before you smoke them. They come up well.

Happy cooking,

Grant.

the way i was taught to smoke fish for best flavour is to soak the fish in brine water first, then allow it to dry out b4 you smoke it. It works gr8. Hickory is my fav dust as well. Produces the best smoked fish ive ever had.

Hi guys,

Thanks for the tips.

I'll check-out the local fishing/camping/barbecue stores for saw dust.

Hickory sounds good.

Can keep fishing longer, and catch more tailor off the beach now -- normally only catch one or two an outing to eat fresh.