Beach/surf Rod

dixie

Hi Guys,

I looking at trying my luck with a bit of beach fishing, as an alternative to estuary spinning, wher I spend most of my time.

Do any of you have any recommendations, regarding the purchase of a light graphite rod around the 10-12 foot length, with all the good gear attached and an excellent threadline reel to match. I would be mainly chasing bream, whiting, flathead, taylor etc, but wouldn't mind trying for an aussie salmon or school jew.

Money is no object, I just want a quality setup.

Regards............Dixie.

:1welcomeani: dixie.

On the matter of reels, I just picked up an Ambassadeur C3 overhead reel. I'm not an overhead expert, but at a casting session last weekend, I got it out 74m ! Highly recommend it if overhead's your type.

Cheers,

Ash

Hi Mate won't comment on rod selection, when it comes to beach fishing I'm not to particular about the rod, the longer the better though. Now as far as a reel is concerned if you are looking for something that is going to help you catch a range of fish from Bream to Jewfish you can't go past an Alvey!!!! Once you master how to cast it you won't look at anything else. Practicaly maintenance free, made for the beach and gives you the spool range you need when you do hook that special big fish

Cheers

Guest danielinbyron