Squid In Pitwatter

spic

I've been fishing the Broken Bay area for quite a few years now and have never really mastered the art of catching squid. Tried a few times around West Head with no sucess. I always take my 2 sons and the times we have tried we have had 3 lures in the water all of different colours and drift with slow retrieves. I'm just not sure where to target them, are they right up close to shore or futher out. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated as with the Kings making a good show this year I'd like to give the Squid a good crack this year. I have a boat so I'm not limited to locations.

Many Thanks,

Spic

Edited by spic

I squided some new spots in Pittwater last Friday for some success :thumbup:

Wherever their are weed beds, have a few drifts.

I find fishing closer to shore, jetties etc more successful, as it is normally shallower, and I can better control the squid jig, getting it just above the bottom. :biggrin2:

As for locations, all around Scotland Island, West Head, ocean side B'joey, Portugese beach, the basin... the spots are endless.

As mentioned find a spot, have a few drifts and if you have no luck move on. But moving on can mean only 10m. Slow retrieves with lots of pauses, and soon as you feel pressure, keep it on and wind the bastard on.

Good luck :biggrin2:

Mate I hope the others will contribute and provide some locations and thank you SK for sharing. I also would not mind knowing some other potential locations in Pittwater to catch Squid (currently on the rare occasion I can get out for a fish)

I am no expert; however I have caught them in the following locations

Basin- at the back end where the moorings finish up, it shallows up and there is weed there. So you may be about 20 or 30 meters off the beach at 90 degrees is a starting point.