Complete Noob To Fishing, A Few Questions (and Praise!)

sebastian

EDIT: Sorry in advance for the long post, the questions are at the bottom if u want to skip to them, lol

Hello all! :1fishing1:

im a complete beginner to fishing (almost), got bitten by the bug but only a couple of weeks ago. this is my first post on this awesome forum!

FIrst off, i'd just like to say i found this site only tonight and i have learnt SO much already! thanks to all for sharing your knowledge, and hopefully i can share as i learn too! Everything from tackle, to techniques, spots, the works. its awesome.

ok, Ive been on a couple of local fishing adventures so far, mainly with the GF. We started out with our "Junior Combo" rod/reel combo's from big double you. $8.73, couldnt go wrong! did the job for our purposes, no doubt will snap any day now, hehe. now ive moved onto a shimano 7' ET thing, its great fun, havnt caught anything the junior combo wouldnt handle tho, boooo.

Evidently, we're getting much better. First time or two we didnt catch anything (casting a floater with a hook 40cm below out into deep water... didnt know any better, silly us, lol). Then after that, decided to use sinkers and no floater, and to our success, we caught our first fish! a bream! hooray, what a day it was. then caught a tiny baitfish. And from then on, i realised about picking a fish, targeting it with rod movements etc, times of day/tide, looking for visual signs of fish etc.

One night i was fishing down at my local (kurraba wharf, neutral bay) and a guy came and had a chat, told us we were better off fishing around the high tide, couple of hours before and after. So, took the advice on board. Went back at that time a few nights later. What do you know, in the one night caught 2 bream and a tailor! bream were about 15cm long each, and a pic of me and my tailor below! :D

sebs14107ta7.jpg