Sqidgees

GrantHarris

Helllo

I apologise for the blatantly novice nature of this inquiry but I have never used soft plastics before and I am going to give them a try on the weekend. For someone completely unfamiliar with them I found the idea of an artificial bait rather intriguing.

That aside would anyone be so kind as to advise the correct way to present these baits on the hook. For starters I have tried what I think would be the most obvious way.

Using a squidgee and a long shank hook with a lead ball attached I figured any trolling or drifting or retrieving would mean that the hook was retireved in a conventional fashion with the lead ball leading followed by the shank and then the hook and barb. Given that you want the bait to look like it is moving through the water in a forward direction I have have fed the squidgee onto the hook head first leaving the tail protruding over the end of the hook with the head pushed hard up against the lead ball weight and the shank travelling down through the body.

Sorry if this description is long winded but I wanted it to be as clear as possible and thanks to anyone who takes the time to respond.

Hi Grant, welcome to fishraider!

Thanks for your question, there is no question too 'novice' around here!

Let me begin with the idea behind soft plastic lures, or squidgy's as many know them, the basic principle is that they are designed to immitate a wounded or dying baitfish, something a big predator cannot resist! In order for them to have the correct action they must be rigged correctly, the correct action is one where the squidgy 'swims' and darts through the water without spinning like a torpedo or spinning around like a ceiling fan! Unfortunately regular hooks, longshank or otherwise, are not a suitable means of rigging, there is another way...

I'll start by showing the individual components, and then how to rig step by step.