I Want To Catch A Jewie!

Thomas Mattarelli

Hey Guys

Im new to this site and have only been reading other peoples topics for like a month and lol thought it was time to post one of my own

i have been fishing since i was a little kid but now i am getting pretty serious with it all, spending alot of money and having alot of fun but im yet to catch a jewie i think my biggest problem is that i dont have a boat but i know there is alot of spots around that a boat isnt too important.

So let me hear it guys. Where do i go to catch one of these things on foot. I fish alot of the hawksbury, woywoy, patonga, many more places that i can get access to deep holes by foot but still no luck

What am i doing wrong ?? and where the hell do they hang out lol ??

Thanks

Toms :1fishing1:

Hi,

Im no Jewie expert by any means but have had some success. Jewfish are a fish that bring great disscussion on this site so be prepared to take in many different angles. Ill give you my 2 bob.

Firstly, what bait are you using? I have had most success on live or fresh poddy muddy, or even the bigger river mullut. If its a fresh poddy I butterfly it and if its a big one I usually use a whole fillet. I have also caught them on fresh, whole peeled prawns or worms.

The tide is very important. They tend to be much more active on the rising or high tide. I have actually never caught a Jewie on low tide.

I have had most luck at night.

One topic that raises the emotions on this site is moon cycles. Personally, I feel they are more active on a growing or full moon. But that is a whole other story and doesnt need to be disscussed here. Check this topic out http://www.fishraider.com.au/Invision/inde...showtopic=17977 There is a post on there by "Jewhunter" which is well worth reading. You may also wish to PM him to ask for his advise.