Pelagic Mayhem

humesy

Hit the water at Rose Bay with 2 mates at 6.30 Saturday morning, along with plenty of others. My two mates come from a different school of fishing to myself. Their idea is to head offshore and fill up the kill bucket with anything with scales and fins. I prefer to have a goal in mind and today it was kingies. I am no expert but have certainly gleaned plenty of knowledge from reports here. Anyway, the kill bucket was defenitely full by the end of the day and we had 2 kings to boot.

went to source some livies and manged a squid quickly and had a school of yakkas around the boat and 2 in the tank. The yakkas were a bit shy though and this is where the fishing philosophy difference came into play. The boys thought we were waisting our time with the little yakkas teasing us so we pulled up the anchor with our limited supply of livies and went across the bay to georges head, about 300 metres from the car park at Clifton Gardens. Squid gets hit straight away but is chomped clean in half (tailor) and the rest of him was picked away soon after. sent down a little yakka and he was nervous stright away and knew what his fate would be. Bang!, 64cm kingie comes into the boat. Mate then bags one using frozen squid. This was great action as a huge bait ball appeared on the screen and the kings were right on their tails. we stuck it out with me suggesting and suggesting that more livies were needed. the boys were having none of it and were sending down pillies and more frozen squid.

finally called it quits there and set off for dobroyd to source bait. no joy there so it was off to balmoral. same story all over. yakkas all over the place and only one in the tank. Our skipper had seen birds and wanted to chase them. Birds had pissed off by the time we arrived and we lost the burley bucket along the way. :1prop: