Stand Or Sit?

Mattman

Hi all!

I'm a boat seat designer & at the moment I'm conducting a bit of research & am hoping you all could tell me roughly;

- what percentage you stand and/or sit while operating your boats & why?

- what you would be looking for in a seat?

My mission is to provide a boat seat/s for you the boat owner/operators that will actually provide the support you need in ALL boating conditions, rather than just making something pretty which only does half the job or less.

Any answers would be most appreciated!

We used to have a 6 meter haines center console with air suspension seats but everyone always stood up unless we were trolling.

We now have a 6.2 meter alloy cuddycab, seats are great but the driver still stands up alot of the time.

I stand up as i cant see whats ahead of me when the boat planes.

Wider seats would be great with high backs on them.

Our new boat has a bench styled seat along the back but the back is not high enough.

Also a rear bench seat that folds away nicely under the coaming so the cushion could be used to pad your knees when fishing.

Alot of people who use there boats for a variety of activities including family fishing, game fishing, family crusing, skiing etc if i was one of them people i would love removable seats.

cheers james

Hi Mate,

Once up on the plane I stand to use my knees to absorb bumps from swell and wake. My seat is at a good height that gives me good visability but I feel more comfortable on my toes.

While at rest however I would like a Smoky Dawson chair in the nav position that takes 20c coins before you can put the foot rest up so I can make up some beer money from the crew :)

Robbie.

Good thread. The first thing that came out of my boat were the seats. That was 18 years ago and my boat has gone seatless since :074: