Petrol

soapie

Guest Jocool

Tohatsu said to NEVER use premium in their motors! Apparently the aromatics in it destroy seals and hoses???? :1yikes: So I only use regular.

I put the basic unleaded fuel in my 25hp Suzi which is about an '85 model.

Mixed 50:1 which were the directions I was told by the boat joint where I got the motor from. :biggrin2:

For an "old" motor it goes well and does the job with this fuel mix.

cheers

Hooky

I ALWAYS use optimax or any other premium unleaded fuel in my boat... I have found that it runs alot better...

I have never heard or been told anything to think otherwise...

Does anyone have relevant document stuff to back it up or just what you were told to do???

Not having a go at anyone, :ranting2::hitsfan: just wondering thats all :thumbup:

cheers,

Wayne

My motor is a 4 stroke & I was told I can run either but preferably premium.

I have been using premium for over 2 years with no problems.

Does anyone have relevant document stuff to back it up or just what you were told to do???

I would like to see that also. This subject comes up a bit & I can't remember ever seeing anything in black & white.

I have a 40hp merc 2 / and was told to use premium at 50:1. Also never use old fuel. I dont know what you call old though. Unleaded is supposed to have a shelf life of only 28 days but old to me is about 3 months and I havent had a problem yet. (touch wood)

Weasel

Edited by Weasel

i used premium for about 2 years now in my 40hp jonhson and no problems here just add a bit extra oil to the mix i think the premium burns a bit better and keeps the top end a bit cleaner ..i pull the plugs out now and then and no sign of carbon build up it looks great

Cheers Dave