Looking For A Boat

mjacd

Hey fellow raiders, been checking out this site for a while and thought i would ask for some advice.

I currently have a 4m quintrex tinnie with a johnson 15hp and while its a good little boat for fishing, im looking for something a bit bigger, preferably a half cabin type.

Because im just new to boating i dont want to go out and spend heaps on something i might not use, so ive been looking at the older fibreglass ones with a half decent outboard.

My question is what price should i expect for an older half cabin with an outboard in good condition. Also which brands should i stay away from?

Ive seen some go on ebay for around 5000 but im not sure if thats too cheap because it might have problems.

I will be using it for fishing around the harbour both day and night fishing.

Cheers

Hello mjacd,

Welcome to fishraider.

We have a site sponsor (Huey from Huett marine) who I would have a chat to if I was you. He can point you in the right direction and give you heaps of good advice.

Not sure of brands to avoid but you should try and stick to well known brands like Haines, Savage or Seafarer.

I picked up a seafarer venus for around $5 k a few years ago and something similar would fit your criteria quite well. Seafarers are good entry level boats and the venus is the 1/2 cab cousin of the famous v-sea.

Do yourself a favour and get a copy of a magizine by Jeff Webster called 2nd hand boats from your local newsagent. He lists heaps of boats with a brief description and a price guide that you could use to get an idea of how much you could expect to pay.

Before you buy the boat take it for a test run on the water and if you are still keen on it get it inspected by a professional so that you dont buy a lemon.

Steve