Difficulty Steering Left..

elite

Hey Raiders,

Would anyone know why it's hard for me to steer the steering wheel to the left? It feels like wires are jammed behind the steering wheel??

Turning right is easy but once you steer back to centre, it's difficult and when the engine is straight again the wheel gets really tight when your trying to make the engine turn so the boat goes left.

hopefully it's a common and easily repairable issue...thanks in advance!!

Without knowing what sort of steering system you have

makes it a bit difficult.

If you have hydralic,all you have to do is lift plug off at

back of steering wheel and top up well.then she will be fine.

Edited by rickb

Thanks for the replies all!

Chrisg: Yes, it's the same out of the water.

Whaler 255 / Rickb: Sorry, im very new to boating so not too sure if it's "hydraulic". I'll check tonight when i get home and see if there's any cap on the back of the steering for me to top up with "sterring oil"?.

Not sure if it helps, but the boat is approx built in 1995. Motor is Mercury (blue band) 40hp oil injected (i think).

Thanks for the replies all!

Chrisg: Yes, it's the same out of the water.

Whaler 255 / Rickb: Sorry, im very new to boating so not too sure if it's "hydraulic". I'll check tonight when i get home and see if there's any cap on the back of the steering for me to top up with "sterring oil"?.

Not sure if it helps, but the boat is approx built in 1995. Motor is Mercury (blue band) 40hp oil injected (i think).

take a photo and post it and it will sort the confusion out