Why Have 2 Engines

fisherdad

There are some days when you wished your boat was single engine. Like when your getting a quote for work to be done and you think the price sounds good anh you hear those words "times two"

Then there is last Friday, 4 mile out idling around looking for bait balls and the port motor takes a splutter and stops, cranks over, sounds

like it's flooded but it just won't start.

It gets better as I had the whole team from work on the boat who know I am a mechanic and nothing I do gets it to run, so day not wasted just pull lures between fishing spots

Well one rat king caught and returned , one Bonnie and I dud engine for a Friday off work.

Saturday I discovered it to be the ignition condenser so new one fitted and happy ready for another go Sunday only to get to the lighthouse outside botany bay for the new condenser to fail.

Limped back into port for the second time this time with 2 bonito

So ask me one engines or 2 and I will tell you about not needing to be towed twice.

Hi David, sorry to hear that mate but as I am sure you will be aware to have two failures on the one part is either very unlucky or more likely there is a cause of these failing condensors and you will need to find it otherwise it will continue to happen. As for Lucky, I do not understand your first post and we see all technologies (carbys, DI, 4-Strokes and inboards) having failures and how an engine is looked after by the owner, will at the end of the day, be the biggest factor in engine reliabilty.

As for the orginal question, yes I ask myself that too when some twin rigs come thru here and the way the hull has ben made with only one fuel supply-it sort of defeats the purpose because more and more issues now days are fuel related so no matter what engine/brand is powering the hull if they are both drinking the same fuel you will be in trouble.

Cheers,

Huey.