Dual battery help

garfield28

Hi guys,
I've been having problems with my dual batteries.... well one of them anyway I think. I have a battery selector that came with the boat, which has 1, 2 both and off. When I start my boat I put the selector onto both, leave it on this switch while I'm scooting to wherever I go, when I stop and I run the fishfinder I switch the switch it to battery 1. Yesterday at different times for some reason there wasn't even enough power in battery 1 to run the fish finder on its own, but at different times it did run and it ran for a while.

Should add that when I select both on the battery selector to start the outboard I have had no problems starting the outboard at all.

I'm not really an electronics guy and I am completely new to boating and especially dual battery setups and how they work - or how they best work. But I decided to pull the batteries out and have a look at the make etc so that I could describe them in the hope it would be easier for one of my fellow fishraider forumnites to maybe tell me what they think the problem may be.

So below is a description of the batteries and they seem to be wired to each other and the battery selector.

One of the batteries (which I'm pretty sure is battery 1) is a motogaurd battery which says on the label that it has 270 CCA RC 50 and nothing else I can see like how many AMPS etc. It's negative lead is connect straight to the other battery's negative terminal. It's positive lead goes into the battery selector.

The other battery (which I believe is battery No 2) is a sea master says it has 580 CCA 130 minutes RC MAX recharge 14.8. I believe this battery might be from either 2004 - or 2005 as there is a plate on it which says 12 months warranty from the date of purchase which has a list of months from Jan through to Dec and the years 2003 - 2004 - 2005 as the years listed.

I tested the batteries with a multimeter this morning to see what they read.