Starting 2-Stroke Outboard

MannY

Hi Guys,

I'm new to boating and trying to get my head around 2-stroke engines. I bought an old Johnson 10hp and had it serviced(it sat around for a couple of months as I needed to completed my boat lic to use it)... now time to start it.

Firstly I had the wrong fuel line connector, so I bought a new tank with the correct fuel line.

Now, I struggle to start it. Once it's started she runs good. The problem occurs when I stop and then start it or do a cold start.. From I have been told this is how to start it, please correct me if I'm doing something wrong...

1 - Make sure I have fresh premium\ unleaded petrol.. 50:1 mix

2- Open fuel valve

3- Prime the line

4 - Pull the choke

5 - Turn throttle to start

6 - Pull until she starts, trying to avoid flooding.

Sparks look ok, I need some ideas on how to diagnose it.. please help

Hi Guys,

I'm new to boating and trying to get my head around 2-stroke engines. I bought an old Johnson 10hp and had it serviced(it sat around for a couple of months as I needed to completed my boat lic to use it)... now time to start it.

Firstly I had the wrong fuel line connector, so I bought a new tank with the correct fuel line.

Now, I struggle to start it. Once it's started she runs good. The problem occurs when I stop and then start it or do a cold start.. From I have been told this is how to start it, please correct me if I'm doing something wrong...

1 - Make sure I have fresh premium\ unleaded petrol.. 50:1 mix

2- Open fuel valve

3- Prime the line

4 - Pull the choke

5 - Turn throttle to start

6 - Pull until she starts, trying to avoid flooding.

Sparks look ok, I need some ideas on how to diagnose it.. please help

You mention since changing out the tank and fuel line you now struggle to start your engine,is this correct?

If you've run the engine and it's still warm when restarting you don't need the choke.

From a cold start yes use the choke with a slight throttle opening.