Favourable conditions for Lion island

jgrant666

Hi all!

I've been doing a lot of reading on here and elsewhere on how to properly read wind wave & weather forecasts, and have come across a lot of good info. So far i've mostly played it very safe as I'm pretty new to boating & fishing, but I've not had much luck in the hawkesbury system so far and would like to try more around lion island with a view to moving a little further outside to some of the reefs just off broken bay and barrenjoey etc as I get more comfortable with the boat.

So far I've just been checking willyweather, seabreeze and the BOM and sort of averaging across them to try and get an idea what conditions might be like on a given day on the weekend so I can plan my weekends accordingly. I've done pretty well so far (except last Sunday when the winds turned out to be WAY more variable in terms of both strength & direction than anywhere had predicted) for fishing the estuaries & protected waters but I'm way less confident with assessing how conditions might affect more exposed locations like round lion island.

I'm keen to hear from experienced fellow raiders what sorts of conditions they'd regard as favourable for lion island & beyond, and what might be classed as red lines or no go days?

It's early days yet for the forecasts for the weekend but today it's looking like about a 1m swell both days, Saturday winds around 10kts mainly from the NE and swell from the SE with a period around 8.5 seconds, Sunday winds looking like starting NE shifting to SE later in the morning and swell starting E shifting to SE and a shorter period of around 5s. High tide at 6am & 7am respectively so will be mostly a run out for the morning (lights on my boat aren't rigged up yet so I'd be launching at sunrise to maximise legal time on the water).