First Boat for First Time Skipper

Chovie444

Hi All,

I am new to the boating fraternity looking to purchase my first boat after having done research to the point of narrowing down my selections - I think!

I am looking at a 5m'ish runabout to be used mainly in Port Phillip Bay for fishing and some biscuiting with my 3 young kids.

So far I am interested in the Quintrex 490 Fishabout or a Revival 5.25 Runabout/Cuddy with nothing less than a 75hp motor on either.

Being a novice I am not sure whether to go for aluminium or fibreglass for my first boat and that's where I need some advice please from people in the know.

A few points to consider:

• I would mostly be launching and retrieving it by myself at a boat ramp.
  • Would need to fit 2 adults and 3 kids most of the time.
  • Enough room for 3 adults to fish as I would take a couple of mates out on occasion too.
  • Possibly some light offshore fishing if conditions permit.
  • Looking at 2nd hand boat and budget is $20-$30K.
  • Boat would be kept under cover at all times when not in use.

Are there better boats or brands out there to suit my budget and purpose?

I would greatly appreciate any advice on this for a first time boatie.

Cheers,

Anthony.

I recently purchased my first boat. It's a Stessco 4.65 fish hunter.

I got an aluminium boat as I fish by myself and so it is pretty easy to manage solo. I mainly fish in the lake but I have taken it out inshore reef fishing and has handled fine. Powered by a 50hp 4 stroke I can't fault it.

As I have found out there will be hiccups as you take the boat out the first few times so don't focus on getting one with all the bells and whistles. You can always upgrade later when you get more competent.

Always do a water test of the boat before you buy just to get a feel of it, many boats ride and handle differently so make sure your comfortable.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome to the nightmare of boat ownership Chovie. Just kidding.