Washdown pump wiring help

Ojay Samson

Hi All,

I was wondering if any of you could help me out with a bit of wiring. I'm completely new to washdown pumps and was wondering if anyone had the same or similar unit as me, the unit i have is a johnson 5.2 and the original owner installed it but said to me when buying the boat that the washdown pump always gave him trouble. now from what i saw with the install it is no wonder it never really worked for him in that when i took delivery of the boat, the switch panel had a 7.5amp fuse in it (found a few more rusty ones in the center console) and according to the pumps sticker, it takes 20 amp fuses. Secondly, old mate installed the inlet hose where the outlet hose should have been and vice versa :1yikes: .
unfortunately for me the pump didn't come with the original instruction manual and i have tried to look online for my specific one manual with the switch panel integrated unit but none exist, i may be overthinking it but i just don't trust anything old mate has done with the pumps wiring...
can anyone with the same unit tell me what i am supposed to do with the wiring, and confirm if the wires are plugged into the right male connectors according to the picture. in the red circle is the connection where the positive wire from the pump was connected to. Am i right in assuming that the blue and red bullet connectors are just the circuit to complete the light lighting up on the switch panel (when turned on) because i dont see any port for the negative side of the wire coming from the pump to go anywhere into the switch. highlighted in yellow box is a slot for a male connector to go into and am not sure if there is meant to be anything in there for the negative wire for the pump. The only thing i can think of in completing the circuit is to attach the negative wire coming from the pump directly to the negative terminal post...