Advice on electrical overhaul in 4.3m tinny

biggest_kid

Hey guys,

I recently purchased my first boat, and am having an absolute ball with it. It is a 4.3m Seajay Nomad, with a bench seat at the back, cast deck up the front and false floor in the middle.

However the previous owner left it out in the sun and weather for years, and so certain components are sun faded and just complete eyesores. This includes the switch panel, fuel lines and just about anything else made of plastic. So my plan is to replace the switch panel, and completely overhaul all the wiring for the boat in the process as it is quite messy and is setting off my OCD. Also, who knows how corroded the wiring is.

I have always had an interest in electronics, and so want to DIY this job in order to learn. I have no experience in the field though, so will need some assistance please.

I have already purchased a 6 gang, fused switch panel from Road Tech Marine, this one to be exact. It is pre-wired and includes a volt-meter for the battery. I am going to purchase an additional 4 gang fused panel to mount beside it as I plan on fitting more than 6 accessories. The fuses are rated for 15A and I figured this should be plenty?

I have drawn up a rough diagram (attached) of where all my accessories will be placed, some of which are already in place from the previous owner.

So my questions to you guys, the experts:

1) In order to connect the accessories to the switches, is all I need to do just run the positive wire (red) of the accessory to the free terminal (shown in my second attached image) on the back of each switch? If so what is that connector called? Is it a spade crimp or something like that?
2) What about the negative (black) wires of each accessory? Do they just connect to the single black wire on the back of the switch panel?