Soft plastics and jighead sizes help!!!!

JamoDamo

Hey Raiders, 

Yet another help thread, I've recently gotten into lure fishing! Finally after ages and ages of borrowing my mates lures and rods I bought my own lures and rod and jigheads! I have $38 left to buy some stuff with I am a real noob with hook and lure sizes so I thought i'd come here and ask you guys about your thoughts on what I should get. I was thinking either zman or squidgy in 100mm and 3 inch sizes. My main target species will be flathead as they are my favourite species to target as they are available to anyone and they take basically anything you put in front of them. 

Thank you all again.

Cheers, JamoDamo

I tend to use Berkley nitro's or saltwater pro's but the tackle tactics jigheads are as good if not better but are just a tadmore expensive.

Usually fish anything from 1/4 to 1/2oz in 2/0 or 3/0 usually, sometimes from the boat I will go heavier in a strong drift or current.

I have a big mixed bag of plastics & seem to do well with 3 to 5 inch Gulp jerkshads in neuclear chicken but I have been moving over to the Zmans lately due to them not having to be kept in the alive liquid.

Almost any SP will catch them, squidgy wrigglers, zman paddle tails, wrigglers etc.

That last big girl I dropped out of the net that was nudging 1mtr was caught on a 3" Gulp minnow in pilchard but the water was that dirty it could have been any colour or style I recon.

I've also caught 15cm flatties on 7" Gulps as well.

When they are aggresive they will try anything that passes by, if you do go to big on the plastic though you end up bringing up a lut of plastic with the back half missing.

Good luck JD.

Edited by kingie chaser
  • Like 1

3 minutes ago, JamoDamo said:

I've bought 1/8th 1/12th and 1/16th sizes 1-2#

Just be careful going ultralight as you might find yourself getting more birdsnests. Going slightly heavier on your jigs heads helps the line wind on to the spool just that little bit tighter.