Advice on a Good 2-4kg combo

Mattg1

G'day fishos

I'm an amateur fisherman getting into the sport  would like some advice on a good 2-4kg combo around the $200-$250 mark. I don't often get a chance to get out fishing and don't want to break the bank. I purely fish land based and I'm slowly starting to fish with soft plastics and lures.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks raiders 

Hi Mattg,

In short I'd be suggesting a 7 foot to 7.5 foot graphite 2 piece rod with 2500 Shimano reel or similar size from other brands.

As my retrieve technique is rod tip down I prefer a short butt so the butt doesn't hit against the meat of the forearm. You want all graphite as it is lighter and a bit stiffer than the fibreglass or semi-fibreglass rods which means that every twitch can get transmitted down the line to the lure. You also feel the bites too.

If you are really on a budget then look at the Shimano Sienna Quickfire 7 foot combo with 2500 reel. This retails for about $99.

If you are happy to mix and match then as a rod I'd suggest a Shimano Raider 762 2-4kg 2-12gram rod which has been going for $80 as there is a new series coming out.

My preference these days is the Atomic ArrowZ AAS-270UL which has a 3-10lb line rating and 3-14 lure rating. Generally around the $130 but have seen them for $100 on special.

If budget is an issue for the reel then consider the Shimano Sienna 2500 but if you can go a bit more I'd suggest the Shimano Sedona 2500 (RRP $99). You will feel the difference between the two.

Before you go out from the shop check the rod for damage and operate the reel fast and slowly to check for rough spots. They are a fantastic reel for the price but they are still mass produced and not their premium range.