Disadvantages of heavier main line/leader?

bxtn

Hi, so I'm a beginner angler currently just using a Shimano rod and reel Sienna combo with 10lb mono for some basic bait fishing but looking to start on some lures.

Last week I picked up a Daiwa TD Black Wicked Weasel and a Shimano Sedona 2500FI to start on some soft plastics. My target species are flatties but also hoping to catch some bream too. I was thinking of getting 6lb braid and 10lb fluorocarbon leader but would that be too heavy for catching bream as well?

Like I read that heavier lines means you'll get less bites than a lighter line but can anyone explain why? Would I also be able to catch bream at a decent rate while also getting flatties with 10lb fluoro?

Thanks.

There's a couple of reasons why light line gets more bites, one is the fish can't "see" the line and things look more normal, second lures/bait present more natural, rather that be restricted by heavy line and so on. Bream right in close to shore around snags in very shallow water can be quite picky, and lighter line casts better.

Edited by noelm
  • Like 4

:1welcomeani: @bxtn

As @noelm says, lighter is almost always better (this applies also to sinkers/jigheads/lures, as well). However, it's all relative to your fishing environment and target species. Experience will teach you what is appropriate (or you can just ask here).

6lb braid and 10lb flurocarbon leader is fine for your average bream and flatties. You might need to go lighter for bream when the water is clear (say 4-6lb), as is often the case in winter when there hasn't been much rain. That's just a case of keeping an extra spool of lighter leader on hand.

I second what @noelmmentioned.