Fishing in Auckland? Any tips appreciated

AlbertW

Hey All,

I'll be visiting Auckland for a few days this holiday and I really want to bring a rod, I'll be living in a hotel right next to the water in the port area, this is my first time visiting the north island and 2nd time actually visiting new zealand, so I know nothing about fishing there. My current game plan is to bring a 3000 sized reel, and to hire a kayak in mission bay if i can fish there and drop either soft plastics grubs or bait. Could someone please help me out with general info like where I can fish and where I cannot?

Thanks in advance,

Albert

Edited by AlbertW

• AlbertW changed the title to Fishing in Auckland? Any tips appreciated
50 minutes ago, AlbertW said:

Hey All,

I'll be visiting Auckland for a few days this holiday and I really want to bring a rod, I'll be living in a hotel right next to the water in the port area, this is my first time visiting the north island and 2nd time actually visiting new zealand, so I know nothing about fishing there. My current game plan is to bring a 3000 sized reel, and to hire a kayak in mission bay if i can fish there and drop either soft plastics grubs or bait. Could someone please help me out with general info like where I can fish and where I cannot?

Thanks in advance,

Albert

I just realised that there is a lake pupuke stocked with trout 😅, guess im bringing my 2500 and my 3000

30 minutes ago, Mike Sydney said:

@AlbertW lots of freshwater rivers closed until October season starts , but lakes are all good. 

Heres a recent report out of Auckland 

https://www.fishing.net.nz/fishing-reports/saltwater-fishing-reports/inner-hauraki-fishing-report-8-9-23/

Cheers mike, I'll read up and get myself familiar with the new zealand fish and game website 👍

19 hours ago, Bryant fish said: