New to Crabbing.

AFT Fishing

Hi members,

I'm new in this forum and I'm happy to see members in this site helping others.

I have never done it before but I am keen to know where would a good land based spot in the Central Coast be for catching both the Mud an Blue Swimmer Crabs. I will be land based and I am aware that the use of crab pots and traps is banned in Brisbane Waters and its tributaries, so the use of a hand line with hook is what is allowed to catch them.

I don't want peoples spot X, just an area where I could go to where I'm in for a good chance of catching Crabs. I can catch Mullet in the bucket loads for bait so that wont be an issue. Catching Mulloway over a metre has never been a problem for me but crabbing is something new to me and would love to give that a crack.

Your guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

No idea about your specific location, but…..crabbing with hand lines/rods is reasonably productive, I do it regularly, first off, use an old fish frame for bait, just tied to the line, no hook needed, look for an area with a bit of weed around, just cast out and wait, crabs just kind of “pick up” the bait and the line goes tight, pull in slowly, you will need some kind of landing net, because they will just let go when close in. Mud crabs might be a bit difficult, not impossible, but pretty rare. Best bait I have found (not that it makes a big difference) is Whiting frames, Blackfish frames, then Flathead and Mullet in that order. You will need some ice in an esky to keep them once caught, once a crab dies, the flesh deteriorates quickly if not chilled, leaving them in a bucket of water, dead in the sun, is not the way to keep them (or any fish)

• Like 3