Musings of a squidding newbie

Firstly, I am a squid newbie, who hadn't caught a squid until the session described below. In the last few months I have been interested in trying but had and still have not much idea where to start.

During the Christmas break, I spent a morning on the Hobie around the spit bridge area in middle harbour. It was on the whole an unsuccessfull outing, although I had follows from 5 or 10 bream over 40cm around the marinas. I've recently found enjoyment trying to tempt these big marina bream on hardbodies, although I've had limited success. Anyway, I digress as im getting off topic!

Near the amateur sailing club there is some small weed beds. I identified these as potentially holding fish, and was casting a natural coloured double clutch 48 around. At this stage of the tide (rising or falling I can't remember) the weed beds were in approx 1.5-2m of water.

Casting around some pylons in the water I suddenly noticed my slowly twitched jerkbait was getting followed by some odd looking darting objects, and realization dawned that I was looking at living squid for the first time. I twitched the lure very slowly over the weed which seemed to excite them enough to grab it. After 4 or 5 squid grabbing the lure then letting go at the net, one finally found the rear treble. I promptly netted the squid, which in turn promptly began repainting my Hobie a certain inky black tone. This seemed to spook the rest of the school and I couldn't attract another follower. If I had more suitable hooks on the lure, I would have caught more, or at least hooked up quicker. As it was it was probably 1 in 100 that I actually did hook up on the treble.

I tried returning with a squid jig, landbased a few days later, but strong wind put paid to any real attempt.