Fishing For Kingies In 12ft Dinghy, Possible In Sydney?

martymonsta

G'day all I'm new to Fishraider and also to boating. Bought my first boat (12ft Savage Gull with 9.9hp outboard) in December and have been out a dozen times for far with varied success at Berowra Creek, Mooney Mooney and Mullet Creeks targeting Bream and Flathead with light line and small lures.

I also have a heavier outfit (4-8kg 5ft 6in Ugly Stick mated to an overhead reel and 6kg mono) which I would like to use to try my hand at fishing for Kingies which sounds pretty hot around Sydney at the moment.

Question is, are there any kingie spots accessible to a small boat of my size? Not sure if I am being too ambitious in targetting this new species or whether I should just stick to the sheltered estauries?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

MartyMonsta

Edited by MartyMonsta

You should be able to get a Kingy or 2 in Pittwater. Try around Scotland Island & any of the small bays along the western shore down to The Basin. You are fine in there with a small boat in decent weather.

Thanks Ken, I reckon that'll be the next trip out! Will post the details of any results.

Cheers

:1welcomeani: to Fishraider Marty, looking forward to your posts

Cheers Swordfisherman

G'day Marty: Spit Bridge in Middle Harbour and Bantry/Sugarloaf Bays in Middle Harbour also easily fished in a 12 footer too and are kingie hotspots! just watch out for the wakes from monster cruiser's "captained" by rich prats who don't care about little tinnies!

G'day Marty,