Sea Changes

Fishin Mission

Hi there, was wondering if any of you have made a sea change from Sydney..or anywhere for that matter. Are you enjoying life since the change, no regrets?.

Reason I ask is my wife and I are thinking of making a sea change from Sydney to Lake Cathie, this is a town about 15 minutes south of Port Macquarie.

Currently I work in IT and have a relatively well paying job, moving north would be a significant pay cut for the both of us, but in relative terms the take home pay would be about the same after a Sydney mortgage 600k etc in comparison to a mortgage under 300k :thumbup: , and probably paid off much sooner.

I guess there are many benefits of moving like more places to fish, more relaxed lifestyle etc, walk to beach/fishing etc.

My wifes parents live up there as well, so we would have family there, mind the kids etc when we have them.

Will also be able to buy a boat once we get up there, so plenty of fishing available.

Interested to see your replies , so far havent heard of anyone regretting the changes.

We are still pretty young, around 30s.

Thanks

Hi Fishin Mission,

I would go there tomorrow if i could talk the :wife: into it, ive only been to lake cathie once and that was last easter.

Top spot and great location, close to Port Mac, great beaches & plenty of place to go fishing, there are a lot of young families up there as the graph shows

post-1705-1158480541_thumb.png

Lot of new homes with recent land releases

Even plans of building a school there.

And not to mention a great fishing club http://lakecathie.com/

If you can get a job in Port, then go!

Area Profile

The size of Lake Cathie is approximately 15 km². There are 1 childcare centre located in Lake Cathie. The population of Lake Cathie in 1996 was 1,801 people. By 2001 the population was 2,075 showing a population growth of 15% in the area during that time. The predominant age group in Lake Cathie is 0 - 9 years.