Will It Work

Outnumbered

G'day all

i'm planning on converting my trailer from skids to rollered and need opinions as to weather my planned method will work.

its not really practical for me to do it with the boat off the trailer so i'm planning on doing it like this:

1. jack up one side of the trailer to transfer natural lean to one skid.

2. cut off the now non loadbearing skid at the two welded brackets on the frame

3. after grinding the frame flat and cold gal bolt on two sets of quad wobbles at the same point that the skid brackets were mounted.

4. raise the quads to fit snugly against the hull, tighten and lower off the jack.

5. rinse and repeat on the other side .

can anyone think of a reason this wont work?

im no expert, but i wouldn't be lifting the boat onto two skids at one time.

A better option would be going to a boat ramp on a weekday and working on it there.

have u considered buying 'retriever mate' or the cheap version at bias boating or super cheap auto for around 300 bucks?

i've got retriever mates on it (they're fantastic for getting the boat on straight) i'm not lifting the boat just tilting the trailer so it has a natural tendancy to lean away from the skid i'm removing.

the problem with doing it at a ramp is the lack of power for the tools

Edited by Outnumbered

it's a 5.25 fibregalss half cab, shes a heavy boat and launching/retrieving is a right pain in the rear (especially if i'm solo).

i've tried just raising the keel rollers but that only made it a little easier.

I've just gone from roller to skids on the new boat and trailer and to be honest find it far esier with the skids to load on and off. I may be a bit further back in the water with the trailer, buts its a dream to get on and off.

No help to you of course but I would make sure that is the way you really want to go.

cheers

Guest Big-Banana