Sandworms

FishinBoy

hey all, wondering how i would watch sandworms, live ... i could buy them each time i do they are frozen and are completely crap, so im asking for some advice on this topic, i need to know where i could catch them, how and what equipment ill need and where i could possibly buy the equipment, this assistance is much appreciated

Thanks in Advance

Fishinboy

Guest johblow

I cant say im a pro at this, but i have done it a few times, and it is a bit of an art form, or skill to be more precise. It really helps if you have a buddy along to drag the burley around in the wave run off. I assume you have seen people worming before? In case you havent, they are caught where the waves break on the beach, and need to be attracted up using some burley. As the run off from the wave washes back down into the surf, the smell of the burley is sensed by the worms and they poke their heads up, making a V shape wake in the run off. Now, im not sure what tide is best, but i would guess that a lower tide would be good. That is based on my experience with pippies.

Anyhow, once you know where the worm is, the bloke with a small cut fish bait goes over to above where the worm is, and dangles the bait in the last of the wash to lure the worm back up. You then move the bait in so that the worm can grab it with its teeth. Meanwhile your thumb and forefinger are within millimeters of the worm ready to pounce. They arch their backs at this point and this is about where your lightning fast reflexes allow you to grab the worm and hold it. Dont pull just yet, just hold the initial VERY STRONG pull of the worm. Then the worm will relax so that it can get a better grip, this is when you pull the bugger out of the hole.