Zero Bites At The Cliff

BrianC

Hi all,

I'm Brian, I'm new to this whole fishing scene and to the forums also. Anyway, last night me and a mate of mine thought we were 'in the know' we took all (we thought) we needed and headed down to Ciffton gardens at around 11pm last night.

We took the advice of someone with a bit more experience than us, and rigged our line up with a size 8 sinker and a swivel + a meter of line that ran off that, to a 4/0 gang hook, using a good sized frozen pilly, presented as best we could. High tide was around 1am, so we cast in about 90mins prior till around an hour afterwards ...Didn't get a bite at all the WHOLE night :1fishing1:

The blokes nearby caught some small things, but not the large Kingies that we were hoping for.

So I thought I'd ask some help from you guys, any suggestions on what we may have been doing wrong? Or were there just no Kingies around that night?

I found we've had more luck in the past with a single similar sized hook, using a much smaller sinker and a floater and some Hawksbury Prawns - didn't bring us any Kingfish, but some decent sized fish none the less.

We're trying to catch those larger fish out there, but so far without any luck. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance

Brian :yahoo:

gday brian welcom to fish raider, the boys here will give you all the good advice you need just gotta stick with it get out and experience, the more you fish the more you learn even if your not catchin.

no8, thats huge.

good idea to use some berly too!

good luck mate.

welcome to fishraider

your best bet is to try and fish early morning sunrise or late arvo sunset i find this to be the best to fish for most andalso more likely to get a king fish at this time but u can get them during the day with no probs but night fishing for kingfish is not the best idea

hope to read more of you reports

cheers

Edited by sambo1

Guest dicko1