The Entrance Blackfishing Session

glennmreid

Hi Guys,

Today I went up to The Entrance for some Blackfishing. I am only new to this type of fishing. Today was my 2nd time.

Decided to give my new blackfish rod and alvey reel a go. Arrived at my 1st spot, not much going on. Then I moved down about 200 metres to try my luck. After burleying, using the stimulate ground berley and green cabbage mixed together, I cast out. Within 30 second I was hooked into my 1st fish. After a good fight(these blackfish fight hard and dirty), I landed a 40cm beast. All went quiet for the next hour. Then bang, 3 more fish and I lost a few more. My last fish weighed 1kg, and measured 42cm.

After a great day, I took home 4 fish. Not bad for my 2nd attempt fishing for Blackfish.

These fish were caught using green cabbage from Narrabeen. They love the cabbage.

I wonder if anyone could help me. One of the fish had some kind of small creatures coming out of its mouth. They sort of looked like tiny shrimp? They were really tiny, and the tails were webbed and flat, lot like a prawn or crayfish sort of tail. I am assuming that these fish must have been feeding on tiny shrimp.

post-3324-1187169747_thumb.jpg

Edited by chopper75

Hi Guys,

Today I went up to The Entrance for some Blackfishing. I am only new to this type of fishing. Today was my 2nd time.

Decided to give my new blackfish rod and alvey reel a go. Arrived at my 1st spot, not much going on. Then I moved down about 200 metres to try my luck. After burleying, using the stimulate ground berley and green cabbage mixed together, I cast out. Within 30 second I was hooked into my 1st fish. After a good fight(these blackfish fight hard and dirty), I landed a 40cm beast. All went quiet for the next hour. Then bang, 3 more fish and I lost a few more. My last fish weight 1kg, and measure 42cm.

After a great day, I took home 4 fish. Not bad for my 2nd attempt fishing for Blackfish.