Swimming in Sydney Harbour

fragmeister

Hi Fishraiders,

I was wondering how the general Sydney fishing community felt about swimming in the harbour.

I have been dioing it for 30 years or more ( mostly along the inner beaches on south head) but recently, I caught glimpse of a shark in the habour around sow and pigs reef and I am now getting a little paranoid.

The statistic say that its very unlikely... more chance of dying in a car crash on the way to the harbour, not fatal attacks in 50 years... still... I am losing my confidence and I am beginning to hear the jaws music eveytime I take a dip!

Many of you will have heard of the Bull Shark tagging program where more than 30 sharks are tagged and being tracked as they roam around Manly, the spit and up the river as far as Parramatta. Take a look at this map

I wonder how many must be in the harbour becuse they can't have tagged them all. Could there be hundreds?

It is clear that the fish life in the harbour has increased so I guess the shark numbers will follow and the risk will be increased.

Let me know what you think

A woman was killed the other day not a couple of hundred meters from where I was fishing at the time... I don't trust salt water swimming at the best of times, that just reinforced my paranoia. The only way I will get in the surf aside from knee deep with a rod in my hands is if there is a beach full of swimmers around me so one of them gets munched first. I see sharks all the time when fishing ranging from hammerheads (most frequent) to makos to bronzies to bulls and even a white pointer once which swam on its side right underneath the tinny I was fishing in eyeballing me as he went under the boat. There is no way in hell I would swim by myself in the briney.

Luc.

Edited by Trout Stalker

I used to go snorkelling for octopus, spent lots of time doing it, until I saw the spine tingling sight of a very fat 2.5m+ bull shark swim under me (coming toward me).