kiwicraig

OK - so a Squid Doughnut does not sound all that appealing and I have to say that it's not my favourite. 

One of the challenges with improving as a fisherman is foregoing the more reliable techniques that you have spent hours on and can usually produce a feed with to spend time on somethign you are not good at. 

I am not very good at targeting squid - but I have made it my goal for the summer to focus on these tasty morsels and improve that.  I've read everything I can find on squid fishing and I decided to spend a whole session today trying to put a few different things into practice.  I rigged up 4 rods with different coloured jigs in the 2.5-3.5 range and planned a few places that I have read about producing squid and a few others that I think fit the descriptions I have read on where to find squid.  Some of these places I have caught squid before, though usually by accident (hooked on a bait rigged for other species) or small numbers.

My thinking today was that it is early summer so squid should be coming inshore to spawn.  The time I had to fish was in the middle of the day and stradling the top of the tide.  There has not been a lot of rain so I figured they may come a little way into Brisbane Water as the water is clear and not very brackish.  For this reason the first place I tried was the ocean side of Rip Bridge on the Hardy Bay side. I drifted along the shore in about 5 - 8m of water casting  over the weed beds.  I counted down and then tried a few different retrieve styles.  These included just a slow wind, mixing in gentle lifts with pauses and the more aggressive douple lifts.  I tried 6-12 casts with each jig and experimented.  Hooked a little weed so I know I was getting the jig down to the right level, but did not get a touch at all on the jig.