Seeking some advice / Questions

LuckyPurpleFish

Hello,

First time poster here. just wanted to get peoples advice/input on a few things.

I am relatively new to fishing(a year and a bit) and i am land based only.

However i really struggle to catch fish. Like out of every 10 times i go fishing, i might catch 1 or 2 fish. Is this normal for land base fishing?

For a bit of context, i primarily fish rocks and beach. (12ft rod, 4000reel, 10-15lb braid, 15-20lb trace)

Tried various different baits and varies locations, but i just cant seem to find any consistency. 

Also is running a rig where the sinker sits ontop of the hook bad? (like hook attached to the trace and then the sinker strait ontop of it then just connecting the trace to the main line) I have also tried Hook>trace>swivel>sinker?mainline. But i absolultes hate tieing lines to the swivel as they tend to allways break. Is sinker ontop of the hook an ok thing to do? or will my succes rate go up using the other rig.

Also was just wondering peoples opinions on the whole braid vs mono thing. In your opinion is the significant price gap worth it?

Welcome to Fishraider LPF, I can probably offer you some advice to get you among the fish. Firstly fishing can be a very frustrating sport and it's not unusual to go out many times and catch nothing. Obviously we don't want that as an outcome though, so what can you do to change it?