Alvey Surf Fishing Lures?

Frou

Hello everybody, I am new to fishraiderĀ  šŸ˜„

I'm looking to try a few lures in the surf, I live on the far south coast of NSW.

I have a Alvey C62S combo (6 inch alvey and light 12' surf rod) with 10lb line on it.

I'm happy to try for a variety of species, just wanting to experiment with something other than bait so the more options the better. What kind of lures should I look to get to target a large variety of species?

Mostly going to be casting from the shore, and might give casting into the surf from the headland rocks a go if the wind is up...

Ā 

Ā 

:fisher:

Welcome to Raider @Frou. Waza is on the money recommending a Halco Twisty. They are extremely popular with salmon and tailor fishermen, cast like a bullet and readily available for a good price.

Since the retrieve rate of an Alvey is quite slow compared to regular spin gear, another lure Iā€™d recommend is an ABU Toby or something of a similar design. The ā€œspoonā€ profile of these lures gets them working with a nice action at a much slower speed than most other metal lures.

Another tip you may already know, is to ensure you use a correct size, good quality swivel in your rig to prevent line twist. If fishing from the beach or rocky spots deep enough to allow, after casting let your lure sink for at least 10 or15 seconds on a slack line to allow the swivel to do itā€™s job. A swivel wonā€™t untwist your line if when thereā€™s any tension on it.

• Like 4

9 hours ago, wazatherfisherman said:

Halco Twisty (there are also cheaper versions of same lure)

Hi Waza, what versions are you referring to? I will give the halco twisty a go!

4 hours ago, Green Hornet said:

another lure Iā€™d recommend is an ABU Toby or something of a similar design.

Hi Greeen Hornet, I searched online for this one and I couldn't find many in Australia... looks like its a UK thing?

5 hours ago, Green Hornet said: