Fish on the BBQ

noelm

Now, before we start, I am no chef, but, I am a pretty good fish cook.....This Australia Day, we will be having our usual family and friends get together, we always have a BBQ, and its usually fish on the menu (and crabs) There is a few very basic things to remember when doing ANY Seafood on a BBQ, the plate must be CLEAN, not just wiped over, but washed clean. I heat my plate up a bit, then clean it with steel wool or a metal scourer, then use some soap and a brush. All traces of last weeks sausages and half a stubbie of beer that someone tipped on before, must be cleaned off. Fish needs to be filleted, or prepared to cook whole, well in advance. Once the plate is heated, and some (tiny bit) of a neutral tasting oil is applied, lay the fish on the plate, do NOT mess around moving it or trying to lift it.....yet! Once it has cooked on one side, it can then be flipped over without sticking (I like to do the skin side first if it has skin) do not let your half intoxicated mates to "help" fish does not need turning over and over, nor does it need a litre of VB to brown it! After the fish is done, then other stuff can be cooked if necessary. Fish for Australia Day for us is Blackfish, or Tuna/Marlin steaks that are plentiful this time of year, for these, a bit of Salsa or fried tomato and onion matches perfectly as a sauce. Crabs are simply cleaned, cut in half and placed in a cold bowl, with ice in a bigger bowl under it, don't forget a big tray for crab shells and so on.

edit......the Salsa can be just a tomato, onion  and Basil with a bit of dressing/vinegar/olive oil, or my favourite, Mango and Onion (sounds strange hey?) 

Edited by noelm
  • Like 9