Reel recommendations for a 12ft Penn Prevail II 6-12kg - Shimano Spheros, Saragosa or Penn Slammer IV?

stoga1919

Hi all,

I am looking for a recommendation/advice on a reel for a newly purchased 12ft Penn Prevail II 6-12kg rod.

I am planning on using this rod for spinning off the rocks, breakwalls and the beach and targeting kingfish, salmon, tailor, mulloway and anything else I can catch

I would like to primarily throw baits on this rod and but also be able to chuck out some metals as well. Will also be running 30lb Jbraid.

Originally, I was going to use a Shimano Spheros 6000 reel however that reel felt a bit light for this rod so I am looking for something larger, probably a size 8000 reel.

The Spheros is currently the same price as a Saragosa in the 8000 size so I am tossing up between what would suit. I have also considered the Penn Slammer IV in the 6500 size but I have never used a Penn reel before so not sure how well they go.

Has anyone use the Spheros, Saragosa or Slammer IV and able to give me some advice on what work best for my rod and fishing goals? Or any other reels that you would suggest?

Thanks in advance!

Thought about a baitrunner or liveliner? 6500 or 6000 size depending on what brand. Slammer 4 is great, slightly lighter slammer 3, but basically the same, didn't notice to much difference. 

Edited by slothparade

I have the same rod in a 10ft . I use it off the rocks & the beach.

I use a Penn slammer 4500hs & a Penn clash 5000 either reel will do.

Not into Shimano. I believe in the last two years the Penn reels are far better.

Cheers.

Yep I definitely was considering a baitrunner initially as well. Was looking at both the Shimano Thunnus 8000 and Shimano Baitrunner 8000 however not sure how well they would handle throwing metals repetitively? Also feel like the baitrunner feature might be one more thing to worry about with salt/water getting into to?

2 hours ago, slothparade said: