Line snapping at the hook eye.

Toilor

I lost a decent Red while lifting the fish into the boat using 30lb mono and a snelled 7/0 in line circle hook, exactly the same setup I have been using for 4 years.  I retied and tested but the knot snapped with roughly 12lbs of pressure.  Stripped off a couple of metres and tried again with the same result.  Ended up convincing myself the eye must have a sharp edge and started tying uni knots which when tested snapped at close to roughly 30lb of pressure.  Problem is I believe that circle hooks work much more efficiently with a snell connection but I've lost confidence in the hooks.  Has anyone encountered this issue?  I would just try another brand except that I have a 100 of these hooks from a very reputable Norwegian company so I'm hoping to keep using them.

I had a similar experience with a cheaper brand of bulk hooks. The eye was not neatly sealed on a large proportion of them. Have a look at your hooks with a magnifying glass, you may well find that you have a bad batch. Alternatively, you could use them attached to a FASTATCH swivel.

bn

• Like 1

The only advice I can offer to improve the strength of a snell is to ensure the line is wound down the shank going around the back of the hook eye and not where the wire meets up against shank.  
I’ll only use a snell when using a leader at least double the strength of the main line, so haven’t experienced your problem.

• Like 1

You didn't mention how old the line is or if its fluoro or not. If its either old line or fluoro then that's the issue, FC greatly reduces strength at the knot, however there are a few YouTube videos showing how to do what looks like an upside down uni knot. Even though nylon line last for years, uv rays still damage it.