Where to fish on the beach (Narrabeen)

Evos

Hi All, 

I'm new to the community and had a questions about beach fishing. 

I'm very new to beach fishing and I'm trying to get a lot more into it. last weekend I was fishing Narabeen Beach, and was trying to find the right spot to set up. I couldn't seem to find a proper rip or gutter and could barley see sandbanks. Can you help me identify these spots and what to look for in future. 

Narrabeen Beach.jpg

The rip is where the water is flowing out to sea or sometimes along the beach. Gutters are where the water is deeper than normal and sand banks are the shallow parts of the beach. 

• Like 1

Not much on that beach, it’s pretty flat from what I can see. The best option is to look for a high Headland at the end of the beach, gutters and so on are easy to see when up higher. On a flat beach like that, I would fish the ends beside the rocks, that said, in a couple of days, the whole thing can change.

Edited by noelm
  • Like 2

I never fished Narrabeen but can give you a general lesson.

Gutters change all the time. There may be nothing there one day. A massive low will create a big swell and resulting waves scour away sand. In calmer weather, sand slowly takes a return journey. Initially banks may be very wide but sand gradually gets pushed across the bank, creeping the bank closer to shore.  Park a deck chair on the beach, you may get lucky but go the the same location some time later when the sand structure changes you'll be fishing a desert. Hence, there is no X spot along any beach, except where water movement is channeled by rocks.