Reel handle side

For all my life I’ve been fishing with my reel handles on the right side despite being right handed. The reason I did this was because that was the default setting the reel always came in and I couldn’t be bothered to swap the sides 🤣 though I’ve become pretty used to it, now that I started to use lures I think that my movements aren’t as strong or as smooth as they should be since I’m controlling the rod with my non dominant hand. I’m wondering if I should change sides. initially it would be quite uncomfortable but will it be better in the long run? Which hand do you guys use? Thanks

I usually use my right hand even though I’m left-handed. I’m no expert but I find that using my non-dominant hand works better for me. Watched some videos about it and found that reeling with your non-dominant hand was better once you get your head around the weirdness for a number of reasons such as the fact that you don’t have to switch hands on your rod after casting. Also flicking lures while using your dominant hand on your rod is better too and fighting fish is easier too if you use your dominant hand on your rod. Credit for this info obviously goes to the creator of the video. I wish I could post the link of the video here for you but I’m not sure that’s allowed here.

Edited by TheFishyFisherman
  • Like 1

Just because it’s theoretically best to wind left handed doesn’t make it right (in my opinion) you do what’s comfortable for you, not some tackle supplier/magazine/fishing movie.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1