Extra washers inside the reel

devoker

I recently bought a second hand daiwa 20 legalis 3000 and I thought it would be a good practice to service it as it wasn't in the best shapes. I had no issues with disassembling and reassembling even though it was my first time to service a reel. However, I found 2 extra washers inside the reel.
There were two oscillating gear bearing washer stacked on top (part 56), and two pinion ball bearing (A) washers (part 40), one in front of the pinion ball bearing (part 39) and one behind of it.

Daiwa 20 LEGALIS LT 3000D-C (reelschematic.com)

As I had no experience with servicing before, I put everything back to where I found, and assumed someone might have put there for a reason. The reel feels crazy smooth now and I have no complaints, but is it a good idea to leave them there as opposed to the schematics?

Hi @devoker, great you can service the reel on your own. Honestly I never have the balls to properly disassemble my reels. I'm not a mechanic or reel professional by any means so just my 2 cents here - washer is generally for even force distribution/protect over surface contact/reduce the friction due to not-so-precise manufacture process. Pinion gear and oscilation system is much weaker under load especially when the body flex a bit (like Daiwa's Zaion V body), so a washer here will help to hold the gears in place and help the ball bearings do its job better. A buttery smooth reel without load is surely a good thing, I would like to know if this will affect the performance under load.

24 minutes ago, lhan said: